Connect with us


‘Gilded Age’ Season 2 Emmy Entries: Carrie Coon, Morgan Spector




'Gilded Age' Season 2 Emmy Entries: Carrie Coon, Morgan Spector

Will “The Gilded Age” strike Emmy gold?

After its second season, HBO’s historical drama ‘The Gilded Age’ has entered the Emmy race with a whopping 37 nominations, Variety can exclusively reveal. This includes excellent drama series, 15 leading actors and the season finale ‘In Terms of Winning and Losing’, which will feature director Michael Engler and writer Julian Fellowes in their entries.

The central couple, Bertha and George Russell, played by Carrie Coon and Morgan Spector, are contenders in the lead actor categories. Coon, an Emmy nominee for the third season of the anthology crime series “Fargo” in 2017, has a strong shot at earning her second nomination and competing with contenders Anna Sawai, Jennifer Aniston and Emma Stone. While already proving to be a big year for the actress, she could find herself in the Oscar race later this year for her standout performance in Azazel Jacobs’ family drama “His Three Daughters,” alongside Natasha Lyonne and Elizabeth Olsen.

Spector, best known for his role as Dante Allen in the seventh season of “Homeland,” is hoping to land his first major acting recognition. He will compete against candidates such as Gary Oldman, Dominic West and Walton Goggins.

A slew of supporting players, both from series regulars and returning actors, will compete against each other in the eight available slots, each for a supporting actor and actress. Emmy darlings Christine Baranski and Cynthia Nixon are in prime position to add another nomination to their stunning resumes. Baranski plays the stubborn old socialite Agnes van Rhijn; she has received a whopping 15 Emmy nominations, winning her first and only one in 1995 for her supporting role as a comedic actress in “Cybill.” She is also recognized for her memorable roles in ‘Frasier’, ‘The Big Bang Theory’ and ‘The Good Wife’.

Nixon plays Agnes’ spinster sister, Ada, and has been praised in many reviews. Nixon, a five-time nominee, has taken home two Emmy statuettes: guest drama actress for “Law & Order: Special Victims Unit” in 2008 and supporting comedy actress for “Sex and the City” in 2004. The pair will also compete against their co-stars Louisa Jacobson, Denée Benton, Audra McDonald, Taissa Farmiga, Donna Murphy and Kelli O’Hara.

Thanks to HBO

The supporting drama actor candidates will be led by Emmy winner Nathan Lane, who plays the scene-stealing Ward McAllister, an arbiter of social rules and style.

“The Gilded Age” received its first nomination at the SAG Awards for Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Drama Series, with all 34 actors recognized. This broke a record previously held by ‘Game of Thrones’, which had 32 nominated actors.

Oscar winner Julian Fellowes, known for the original screenplay “Gosford Park” (2001), is a 10-time Emmy nominee with two wins for PBS’s “Downton Abbey” for writing and outstanding miniseries or movie (before the show was categorized as a drama). for subsequent seasons). Engler has been nominated three times for directing episodes of “Sex and the City,” “30 Rock” and “Downton Abbey.”

Production designer Bob Shaw, who won for Season 1, will likely be in the running for a new statuette. In contrast, the costumes for this second season are hoping for redemption from costume designer Kasia Walicka Maimone and her crew after being left out of the first season.

The eight-episode second season, which premiered in October 2023, received high praise from critics. Variety chief TV critic Alison Herman wrote, “‘The Gilded Age’ puts its budget where its heart really lies: with the extravagant trappings of its characters’ dynastic fortunes.”

Fellowes will write and executive produce the series with Bob Greenblatt, Gareth Neame, David Crockett and Michael Engler, who also directs. Sonja Warfield and Salli Richardson-Whitfield also serve as executive producers. The show was renewed for a third season, which is expected to premiere this fall.

Read: All Primetime Emmy predictions in every category at Variety Awards circuit.

The full list of Emmy submissions can be found below. Voting for the nominations begins on June 13.

  • Excellent drama series
  • Main actor in a drama series: Morgan Spector
  • Lead actress in a drama series – Carrie Coon
  • Supporting Actor in a Drama Series: Nathan Lane, Robert Sean Leonard, Blake Ritson, Ben Alhers, John Douglas Thompson
  • Supporting Actor in a Drama Series – Christine Baranski, Cynthia Nixon, Louisa Jacobson, Denée Benton, Audra McDonald, Taissa Farmiga, Donna Murphy, Kelli O’Hara
  • Guest star in a drama series — Darren Goldstein (206: “Warning Shots”), Michael Braugher (204: “His Grace the Duke”)
  • Guest actress in a drama series – Laura Benanti (202: “A kind of trick”), Melanie Nicholls King (208: “In terms of winning and losing”)
  • Directing a Drama Series – Deborah Kampmeier (204: “His Grace the Duke”), Michael Engler (208: “In Terms of Winning and Losing”)
  • Writing for a Drama Series – Julian Fellowes (208: “In Terms of Winning and Losing”)
  • Single-Camera Picture Editing for a Drama Series – Shelby Siegel (208: “In Terms of Winning and Losing”)
  • Cinematography for a one-camera series (one hour) — Lula Carvalho (201: “You don’t even like opera”); Manuel Billeter (207: “Miracles never end”)
  • Casting for a Drama Series – Bernard Telsey, Adam Caldwell
  • Historical Costumes – Kasia Walicka Maimone, Costume Designer; Patrick Wiley, co-costume designer; Isabelle Simone, assistant costume designer; Denise Andres and Rebecca Levin, costume supervisors (201: “You Don’t Even Like Opera”)
  • Scripted Programming Choreography – John Carrafa (202: “Some Sort of Trick” and 206: “Warning Shots” routines)
  • Period and/or fantasy/sci-fi hair styling — Sean Flanigan, Hair Department Head; Christine Fennell-Harlan, Jonathan Zane-Sharpless, major hairstylist
  • Jonathan Zane-Sharpless, Aaron Mark Kinchen, Key Hairstylists; Tim Harvey, Jennifer M. Bullock, hairstylists (201: “You Don’t Even Like Opera”)
  • Period and/or fantasy/sci-fi makeup (non-prosthetic) — Nicki Ledermann, makeup department head; Anette Lian-Williams, Jane DiPersio, major makeup artist; Mareike Mohmand, Roxanne Rizzo, makeup artist
  • Musical Composition for a Series (Original Dramatic Score) – Harry Gregson-Williams, Rupert Gregson-Williams (207: “Wonders Never Cease”)
  • Production design for a narrative period or fantasy program (one hour or more) – Bob Shaw, production designer; Larry W. Brown, supervising art director; Lisa Crivelli Scoppa, set designer (205: “Close Enough to Touch”)
  • Sound editing for a comedy or drama series (one hour) — Lidia Tamplenizza, supervising sound editor; Michael McMenomy, dialogue editor; Patrick Cicero, sound effects editor; Nora Linde, foley editor; Mar Heredia, running group editor; Jonathan Schultz, music editor (201: “You don’t even like opera”)
  • Sound mixing for a comedy or drama series (one hour) and animation – Teferra McKenzie, production mixer; Andy Kris, Chris Chae, mixers re-recording; Jack Heeren, foley mixer (201: “You Don’t Even Like Opera”)
  • Special Visual Effects in One Episode – Douglas Purver, visual effects supervisor; Leah Orsini, visual effects producer; Eric Lorenz, visual effects editor; Tessa Rittersbach, visual effects coordinator; Jim Ranker, special effects coordinator; Becky Graham, Visual Effects Supervisor – DNEG; Vicky Gillett, Visual Effects Producer – DNEG; Prashanth Srinivasan, DFX Supervisor – DNEG; Felix B. Lafontaine, Compositing Supervisor – DNEG